Blog

What To Read This Summer

Need a good book to read this summer? These Summer Reads selections will challenge you to read a variety of genres to expand your reading repertoire.

All titles are available as either eBooks and/or eAudiobooks through our Overdrive and Hoopla Services.

Each week, we will publish a book talk about one of our Adult Summer Reads titles on our Facebook Page.

Adult Summer Reads

Love suspense? Fan of Gone Girl or Girl on the Train? Check out this book recommendation from Anne for The Woman in the Window, a suspenseful psychological thriller!


The Woman in the Window by A.J. Finn is available as an eBook and eAudiobook through our Overdrive collection. Click the links or get started at www.ncrl.org/ebooks.

Neil Gaiman fan? Love libraries? Click here to watch Lesley from Wenatchee Public Library offer a fun book recommendation of this fantasy thriller! 

 Library of the Unwritten is available as an eBook and eAudiobook through our Overdrive online service. 

 

Royals, political intrigue, romance, oh my! Need a fast paced romance? Click here to watch Tommie from our Moses Lake Library share about Red White and Royal Blue by Case McQuiston.

 Red White and Royal Blue is available as an ebook and eaudiobook through our Overdrive service. 

Are you a fan of the royals? Do you love historical fiction? Our Book Clubs Coordinator, Anne, has the book for you! Click here to watch our Book Clubs Coordinator, Anne, talk about The Gown: A Novel of the Royal Wedding by Jennifer Robison.

The Gown is available on eBook and eAudiobook on Hoopla and also on eBook and eAudiobook on Overdrive.

Extraordinary women and adventures in the American Southwest? What more could a reader want? Click here to watch our Waterville Librarian, Amy, talk about Ladies of the Canyon by Lesley Poling-Kempes. Intrigued!?

The Ladies of the Canyons is available as an eBook and eAudiobook through our Overdrive service and as an eAudiobook through our Hoopla service.

Love a good memoir? Click here to watch our Book Club Coordinator, Anne, talk aboutMaidby Stephanie Land. 

Maid by Stephanie Land is available as an eBook and eAudiobook in our Overdrive service. Click the title or book cover, or start at www.ncrl.org/ebooks.

Young Adult Summer Reads

Celebrate the 100th anniversary of the 19th Amendment with this helpful guide, a book for all girls who have something to say and are ready to use their voice! Watch this book talk by Jessica, Branch Supervisor at Wenatchee Public Library, to learn more!

Girls Resist! A Guide to Activism, Leadership, and Starting a Revolution by KaeLyn Richis available as an eBook and eAudiobook through our Overdrive service and as an eAudiobook through our Hoopla service.


 

Moving to a new city isn’t quite what Juliet expected. Will she find a place that feels like home, a community where she feels like she belongs, and find herself along the way? Click here to watch Daniel’s book talk to find out more about Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera, a hilarious and heartfelt summer read.

Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera is available as an eBook through our Overdrive service. 

Rebellion, fighting against an unjust system, and secret love. Click here to watch Daniel, Area Manager in Okanogan county, talk about your next dystopian fantasy read. Are you a fan of The Giver, The Hunger Games, or the Divergent series? Then We Set the Dark on Fire by Tehlor Kay Mejia may be the book for you. 

 We Set the Dark on Fire is available as an eBook and eAudiobook through our Overdrive service and as an eAudiobook through our Hoopla service.

Middle Grade Summer Reads

This clever puzzle mystery for Middle Grade readers is perfect for fans of The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin and also deals with issues of divorce, bullying, and racism in the past and present. Learn more from Mallory, a Children’s Librarian at the Wenatchee Public Library.

The Parker Inheritance by Varian Johnson is available as an eBook and eAudiobook through our Overdrive service and as an eAudiobook through our Hoopla service.


<

Lisa, Librarian at the Cashmere Public Library, shares about a fictional immigration story based on true events. Can a 12 year old survive the trek through Mexico to the US border?

Watch the video here and learn more!

The Only Road is available as an eBook and eAudiobook through our Overdrive service and as an eAudiobook through our Hoopla service.

Mallory, a Children’s Librarian at the Wenatchee Public Library, talks about a book full of creepy thrills and chills for Middle Grade readers. Intrigued!? Watch the video here and learn more!

Nightbooks by J.A. White is available as an eBook and eAudiobook through our Overdrive service and as an eAudiobook through our Hoopla service.

 

 


share:
Blog
×